Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

@home // Shimon Braun

October 18 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Watch today’s event live at 3 pm PDT <<< here >>>

TIOH Arts & Culture presents

@home with Shimon Braun

Sunday, October 18
3 pm PDT / 5 pm CDT / 6 pm EDT
Free, registration recommended

REGISTER HERE FOR THE EVENT

Renowned dancer, choreographer, painter, and teacher Shimon Braun will be joining us from his home in Philadelphia to share stories of serving as an officer in the Israeli army, dancing with the Batsheva Dance Company under the Artistic Direction of Martha Graham, and leading his own dance companies Jazz Plus and Waves which was hailed as a “Phenomenon” by The New York Times, before returning to painting and creating a prolific body of work on canvas.

Braun’s life is a testament to the power of art for the individual and the community. Born in Poland in 1938, Shimon Braun survived the Nazi occupation by escaping to Russia where at the age of five he drew his first memorable painting, a factory that he copied from a Russian newspaper. Today, Braun continues to paint, just as he “painted” renowned performance venues from around the world with his powerful dance companies for decades.

He is currently working with his life partner and artistic collaborator of more than thirty-five years Meghan Braun on a memoir titled Waves, A Choreographic Journey of Survival, and Triumph.

Broadcast live from the artists’ living room to yours and hosted by TIOH Arts & Culture’s artistic director Diana Wyenn, this event will be offered for free on TIOH Arts & Culture’s website. 

Image description: Shimon Braun stands in his painting studio in a black button-up shirt looking directly at the camera surrounded by his colorful art work and next to a table with paints and brushes. Photo credit: Peggy Peterson Photography

Details

Date:
October 18
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , ,